Tags

, ,

A critically acclaimed album. A top of a list album, specially 90’s best of lists. An essential album if you call yourself a lover of music. Guess where I found it? In the used CD bins at Specs for 7 bucks. It’s been a while since I find gems hidden beneath the rubble.

I’ve always heard of Yo La Tengo, but never got to actually listening their stuff. I think I was to heavily into Radiohead’s Ok Computer when I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One came out. But that’s a good thing, because if I’d heard it then, I probably wouldn’t had enjoyed it as much as I’m enjoying it now.

I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One is not an album I would recommend to everyone though. You have to be somewhat schooled in it’s influences. It’s an amalgam of folk, noise-rock and melodic pop. It echoes bands like The Velvet Underground, Jesus and Mary Chain and My Bloody Valentine.

This is a one hour long affair, but it’s filled with so much beautiful hazy sunshine, that it turns time into a non issue. Not recommended listening when driving. It starts out with an instrumental piece, Return to Hot Chicken, that sounds like Beach Boys on slow motion. Sugar Cube is a Sonic Youth-esque romp. Little Honda, which is a Beach Boy cover, is a very J&MCish track.

The disc ends with My Little Corner of the World, which beautifully concludes the album. I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One is in a way an ode to the bands influences, which are excellently and originally recorded. It is indeed a trip into Yo La Tengo’s little corner of the world.

Recommended Songs

  • Moby Octopad
  • Deeper Into Movies
  • Little Honda

MySpace Page

You Tube Video

