Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve been a fan of Chuck Palahniuk novels since I watched the Fight Club film. The movie blew my mind because I was at a place in my life where I was easily seduced by its neo-anarchist propaganda. It has struck a cord with the cubicle farm office worker and the young adult crowd. That’s why it’s still pretty much a cult phenomenon.

I’ve read every book by Palahniuk except his latest, Snuff. The author has been compared to people like Don Delillo and Bret Easton Ellis. He’s definitely part of that group of sick and twisted writers, but one aspect I like about Palahniuk is his non-fiction style of writing fiction. That’s probably due to the fact that I read more non-fiction than fiction.

As of now, Choke is my second favorite out the author’s catalogue. It’s hilarious and I don’t think dark humor does it justice for what I mean by hilarious. It’s funny like in a Patrick Bateman way, the killer in American Psycho, when he does profound reviews of Genesis albums before killing someone. Ok, maybe I am a little sick.

Choke is about a guy named Victor Mancini. He’s a medical student dropout, is addicted to sex and goes to “sexaholic” meetings. One of his other dilemmas is that his mother is sick and he needs to pay for the Care Centers bills. He resolves this by going to restaurants and choking on purpose to receive pity gifts from his saviors.

Somebody saves your life, and they’ll love you forever. It’s that old Chinese custom where if somebody saves your life, they’re responsible for you forever. It’s as if now you’re their child. For the rest of their lives, these people will write me. Send me cards on the anniversary. Birthday cards. It’s depressing how many people get this same idea. They call you on the phone. To find out if your feeling okay. To see if you maybe need cheering up. Or cash.

The movie is coming out soon, but those trailers don’t have me too psyched. I just wonder if it will live up to the book like Fight Club did. There are many sexually explicit depraved scenes in the book that I’m sure will be “softened” in the film. The introspective nature of the first person narration works better in book form anyway. However, David Fincher and company did a great job transferring that into Fight Club.  

So read the book before the movie comes out so you can impress your friends spotting omitted scenes and highlighting the fact that Denny is skinny and bold. 

