Tags

, ,

In an interview with The Globe and Mail, Malcolm Gladwell shared his views on social media. It isn’t so surprising that he doesn’t think too highly of it.

A Facebook group with 200,000 followers – is that an illusion of mobilization?

It depends on what you’re trying to do. If I’m putting together a flash mob, that I want everyone to meet me in half an hour in Times Square, it’s really useful to have 100,000 followers on Twitter. If I want everyone to go to my website and buy my new book, it’s incredibly useful to have 100,000 followers on Facebook. If I want to start a political movement to overthrow a tyrannical regime, it may be less useful. If you follow me on Twitter, I do not own your heart. I may own your pocketbook momentarily. And I may own your attention for five seconds, but that’s it.

