Tags

, ,

I’m stuck on starting. The photo above is the basic design idea I want to follow. A header, a horizontal navigation column, and a left sidebar. The idea was inspired by this design. The right column strip its what I’m finding tricky. I’m not sure if a really thick border will do the trick or if I’ll have to create an image. Of course I’ll have to create images like a header and “typographing” the name. This next image is one of my proudest image editing moments using Gimp. I actually used it on a theme the lets you add a custom header. Though I think it’s a little hokey, believe it can blind you, and give you a huge migraine. Hope you’re not driving.

I created another blog to test and play around with the CSS editor. The Sandbox theme is perfect for what I want to do. Again, the only thing I don’t see a solution for right now is that right column strip. The WordPress CSS editor is a bit weird. There are some things that I’m not sure about, like why it adds a div in front of a selector, but one of the most important things to know is to never copy and paste code in it. When you do that, you’re duplicating the code. Here’s a really good explanation for this.

Another thing you need is a tool to figure out the HTML behind the CSS. You could figure it out viewing source, but a better tool for that is something like Firebug. Why? While every theme has a link to the original stylesheet, you need to know what and which id’s and classes are created in the HTML to know what you’re actually styling.

As you can see, there’s still a lot I need to learn and a lot to do. I have to make more tiny and manageable steps in order to start. But even if I can’t do that, I just need to start.

