Tags

, ,

IMG_0127.PNGI have been a slow convert to Instapaper. My “read later” tools before the conversion have been a combination of starring RSS feeds on Google Reader and bookmarking on Delicious. And I still do these things, but for the true purpose of reading later, particularly long form content, there’s no better tool than Instapaper.

As I mentioned, it has been a slow process. I created an account on the web page like a year ago. I think I used it for a couple of days. That was before owning an iPhone. After I got the iPhone I downloaded the free app version. Same thing. Used it for a while sporadically, but it didn’t stick. But at one point I said, all right, let’s check out the paid version. This might sound silly, but the thing that did for me was tilt scrolling.

I’m not saying that tilt scrolling is what makes the app amazing, it does, but it’s what made me realize that this is for reading. It’s not for aggregating to the hive, worrying about correct tags and whatnots. It’s not about “liking” things and marking as favorite. As soon as I started saving to read later those long New Yorker articles, and finding myself truly immersed and focused while reading, that’s when it all clicked. I’m surprised at how fast I’m reading what at first seems like intimidating TLDR articles.

And while Instapaper doesn’t have a “social” aspect to it, you can subscribe to someones favorite folder. (Mine’s JayCruz if you’re so inclined.)

If you love reading articles, but find it a hassle and a distraction trying to read them on their sites, I’m sure you’ll love Instapaper.

*I’m aware that there’s also Read it Later, but I’ve never used it.

Other great stuff on Instapaper

Instapaper. Reinventing Long Form Reading

Taking Time to Read on the Web: Instapaper Gets Ready for the Big Show

Instapaper is a Mac Gem

